Redesigning a Classic

The NEWSCBWI conference theme this year is “Celebrating Milestones.” For the poster conference, illustrators have been asked to redesign the cover of a classic work of children’s literature. I chose one of my childhood favorites, a book I still re-read as an adult occasionally – The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

I’m experimenting more with the combination of digital artwork and fabric – this piece was done entirely in Photoshop.

I am honored that this cover redesign was chosen by the staff of R. Michelson Galleries to be included in the 22nd Annual Illustrator’s Exhibit from November 1, 2011 – January 31, 2012.  To be included in a show featuring Jules Feiffer is truly amazing.

I am also thankful to my fellow SCBWI members who voted for me in the poster contest. I am so honored to win third place in the People’s Choice category and first in the Unpublished category. Thank you, everyone!

Leave a Reply

