12×12 Picture Book Challenge

I have been working on writing picture books for the last couple of years. They are a deceptively simple form that is actually very difficult to write.  Every word counts, you have to take into account the page turns and the sound of the words when read aloud, in addition to having a compelling story arc and lovable characters.

I’ve written several that don’t quite work, and while I’m revising, and revising, and revising – and completely disassembling and reassembling – I am beginning to see the truth of the advice given to new writers to just keep writing new stuff. If you do it enough times, you’ll eventually hit on something that works. I hope at least!

“Write a short story every week. It’s not possible to write 52 bad short stories in a row.”― Ray Bradbury

I don’t think I’m capable of writing an entirely new picture book every week, let alone illustrating a dummy even to preliminary sketches. But I do think I’m capable of one per month. I signed up for 12×12 because those little electronic badges and end-of-month raffles are great fake-deadline motivators for actually getting that draft and revision done each month.

Here’s to a productive new year!

Leave a Reply

